By Ernie Over, WyoToday

Fremont County legislators have received their committee assignments for the upcoming 67th session of the Wyoming State Legislature. Two county lawmakers have been selected for the prestigious Joint Appropriations Committee, including St. Sen. Tim Salazar of Riverton and St. Rep. Lloyd Larsen of Lander. For Larsen it is a re-appointment to that committee.

State Senator Cale Case of Lander has been re-appointed as chairman of the Senate Revenue Committee and he will also sit on the Senate Judiciary Committee. State Senator Ed Cooper of Ten Sleep (Shoshoni/Lysite) will sit on the Minerals, Business and Economic Development Committee.

In the House of Representatives, Riverton State Representative Ember Oakley will serve on two committees, Judiciary and Revenue. Representative John Winter of Thermopolis (Lysite/Shoshoni) will be on the Agriculture plus the Travel, Recreation, Wildlife and Cultural Resources committees while Representative Pepper Ottman of House District 34 will sit on the Corporations, Election and Political Subdivision Committee. Newly elected House District 33 Representative Sarah Penn was appointed to the Labor, Health and Social Services Committee.

Senator Ogden Driskill of Devils Tower has been nominated for Senate President and Representative Albert Sommers of Pinedale was nominated for Speaker of the House.

Members of leadership in both houses will be formally confirmed and newly elected legislators will be sworn in on January 10 beginning at noon, as provided by the Wyoming Constitution.